Spring has Sprung

Well, I haven’t posted in awhile. I have been busy with other things – but I will try to post a bit more regularly from here on out.

I’d also like a bit of help from readers – anyone who lives on or spends time at Tenmile, Tahkenitch, Woahink or Siltcoos Lakes – could you keep your eyes peeled for wapato (Sagitarria latifolia)? There are reports it formerly grew at Siltcoos and Tenmile and perhaps some populations still exist. If you’ve located some, I’d love to hear from you and check it out.

About shichils

Just sharing some fun on language
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring has Sprung

  1. Lorre G Lewis says:

    Hi,

    Are you connected with the Confederated Tribes of Coos, Lower Umpqua, & Siuslaw Indians?

    I am a tribal member. Our cultural director is working on a language grant.

    Good to see some interest out there and this blog is a great way to get some info.

    • shichils says:

      Yup, it is me, Patty Whereat Phillips. I’ve been giving myself headaches this week battering my brain against grammar – trying to untangle nitpicky points. Oh, it has been interesting. I run across words and connections that interest me at times, and I thought itd be fun to post ’em on a blog. Tho’ lately I’ve been busy enough that I have not had much time to think and post things. Although I think I should post one on a hundred ways to say ‘tree’ (ok I exaggerate, but still there are some interesting variations there….) So I guess I have more to do.

Leave a Reply

